Celebrities arrived to a red carpet floodlit welcome with local paparazzi Linda Holmes capturing people as they arrived. Raglan Whaingaroa’s own film makers and stars received their awards at the Raglan Arts Film Festival Awards night on Saturday night.

The glamour event saw celebrity guests including Clive Neeson, producer of Last Paradise and Aroha Yates-Smith, composer/ singer for Water Whisperers, arrive on the red carpet. Others spotted arriving were Micah Puklowski, Maryann Tuao, Andre Ngapo, Miromiro Kelly-Hepi Te Huia, Winiata Hunia, Tamihana Moko, Turanga Kereopa, Ariana Brunet, and representatives from the Whaingaroa Youth Movement.

After arrival guests mingled, enjoying a buffet dinner provided by Rachel Lister. After a screening of the nominated movies, MC Wanda Barker called on members of the Raglan Community Arts Council to announce the awards.

Individual Awards
* RAFFA Best Documentary: Turanga Kereopa
* RAFFA Music Video Award: Maryann Tuao
* RAFFA Environmental Award: Kathleen Gallagher
* RAFFA Live Action Award: Micha Puklowski
* RAFFA Peoples’ Choice Award: Clive Neeson
* RAFFA Best Actor award : Tamihana Moko
* RAFFA Best Drama Actress: Ariana Brunet

Group Awards
* RAFFA Best Directors Award:Andre Ngapo, Miromiro Kelly-Hepi Te Huia, Kylie Hollis and Winiata Hunia for 3 short films (Mana Motuhake, Karioi, Te Ataiorongo)
* RAFFA Creative Dance Award: Whaingaroa Youth Movement — Indya Gibbs

And the major overall award known as the RAFFA Creative Force Award went to Raglan Area School teachers and children of Te Roopu Aroha ki Te Reo. The Raglan Film Festival academy said they wanted to acknowledge Children of ‘Te Roopu Aroha ki Te Reo’ and their teachers in a special overall award. The RAFFA Creative Force Award acknowledges the collaboration and team effort between students and teachers of Raglan Area School.

The RAFFA Awards are organised by the Raglan Community Arts Council with sponsorship by Creative Communities Waikato District. The Raglan Community Arts Council thank other supporters including Raglan Club, Raglan Operational Support Unit, V48 Furious Film Making, NZ Film Commission, film distributors, Rachel Lister for event catering, Aaron Moar for not only his planning help but for being the ‘voice’ for our film festival on Raglan Radio and Tractor FM, Phil and Emily Meek for designing of the RAFFAs, Linda Holmes as photographer for the evening, Lucretia and Maida for serving refreshments and all of the nominated stars and film makers.